Thistle Mill Memories

I mentioned a few posts ago, that Thistle Mill in Ellicott City has been scheduled for demolition. It was one of my first urban decay sites, so I am disappointed to see it go. Recently, the walls have started to come down, bit by bit. I am glad took the time to go by and snap a few more photos of it recently, in spite of the threat of rain that day.

Being right by the Patuxent, Thistle Mill always seems to be swarming with mosquitoes in the summer. A lesson I know all too well after several shoots there. Pretty much every time I had a shoot there I had left covered in bites; wanting to bathe in calamine lotion once I got home. The mosquitoes were unfortunately still present as usual, but this particular time the place was also crawling with tiny frogs. From a distance, I thought them to be crickets, but it was only when I got a little closer that I saw what they were. I indulged in the childish delight of picking up the little critters and getting a closer look at them. I even managed to get a snapshot of one. I noticed in a pond that had formed near the front of the mill that there were also a lot of tadpoles as well which made me happy.

It's a tiny froggy! *Squee!*

It’s a tiny froggy! *Squee!*

Friends of mine had told me that the mill was coming down piece by piece, but even so it was hard to imagine until I was there. Parts of the mill I knew so well and sections I had just shot in a few months ago were already gone. I was glad I took the few photos I did the last time I was there. Already the scenery was immensely different….

The rain that was threatening to fall finally came and I had to leave after snapping a few pictures. Thistle mill was one of my first urban decay sites and I will miss it very much. It seems that demolition is becoming the fate of more and more urban decay sites lately. I will leave you with this last image:

Where one life ends, another begins.

Where one life ends, another begins.

This is proof that where one life ends, another will always begin. Do not mourn what was lost, only remember it fondly and treasure the memories. This is a lesson that can be applied to more than just a building.

Leave a Reply

