A Green Weekend

Last weekend was full of green for me. As I’m sure most of you know, last Saturday was St. Patty’s Day; aka: let’s all get super trashed for one day, wear green, and pretend to be Irish day. Unlike many who participate in the revelry and are “pretend Irish” or “Irish for a day” (or what I would like to call just plain drunk), I actually am of Irish decent. I always wondered why this Irish holiday was just an excuse to get drunk as crap in America and wear green, so I decided to research it a little.

            Good ole Wikipedia had this to say:

“Saint Patrick’s Day or the Feast of Saint Patrick is a cultural and religious holiday celebrated on 17 March. I commemorates Saint Patrick, the most commonly recognized of the patron saints of Ireland, and the arrival of Christianity in Ireland…Saint Patrick is said to have used the shamrock, a three-leaved plant, to explain the Holy Trinity to the pagan Irish, and the wearing and display of shamrocks and shamrock-inspired designs have become a ubiquitous feature of the day. In the 1798 rebellion, to make a political statement, Irish soldiers wore full green uniforms on 17 March in hopes of catching public attention. The phrase “the wearing of the green”, meaning to wear a shamrock on one’s clothing, derives from a song of the same name.”

That’s all well and good, but where did the excessive drinking come from?

“The day is generally characterized by the attendance of church services, wearing of green attire, public parades and processions…”

Yeah, yeah, yeah….we know…..

“…and the lifting of Lenten restrictions on eating, and drinking alcohol, which is often proscribed during the rest of the season.”

There it is!

Despite my Irish heritage, I have never gone out on St. Patrick’s Day. So I figured it was time to fix that. I put on my green, and drew a cute little shamrock next to my eye and was ready to party the Irish way.

I know some people have corn beef and cabbage and other “traditional” Irish fare on St. Patrick’s Day, but I don’t particularly like corn beef…..or cabbage. So I went to The Abbey Burger Bistro with a friend in Federal Hill. Customization is all the rage at this place, and you can get virtually any sort of topping you can imagine on your burger, and you can get burgers in a variety of different types of meats ranging from Kobe beef and Black Angus all the way to more interesting and obscure meats like elk, bison, or even kangaroo.

Want avocado on your kangaroo burger? You got it.

I started off my day with an Irish Car bomb, which is a shot of Bailey’s in Guinness for those of you who don’t know. I also discovered it is quite possibly one of the most disgusting drinks associated with St. Patty’s day…..I really didn’t like it.  

I had initially planned to travel down into Fells Point for the evening, but a good friend of mine asked me to hang with them since I hadn’t seen them in a while, so I ended up at The Kent House in Towson instead. We had a lot of fun, even though this place didn’t have that famous green beer I always hear so much about.

The following day I got together with Ren from Random Eye Candy Photography (I mention her a lot, I’m sure those of you who read my blog know her by now, lol) and Roxana Hire and Orla Rose to participate in a concept they dreamed up together for a seven deadly sins shoot—-steam punk style. When I was initially invited in on the shoot, I was unsure of which sin to portray. I honestly had ideas for at least 4 different sins and though I really liked lust, it seemed half the models involved wanted to be lust as well, so I decided to do envy and everyone seemed to agree on that. Also portraying envy with me was another model that I have never worked with before, Raye, who is a friend of Roxana’s. We wore green, of course, going with the “green with envy” saying. For the shoot I borrowed a black bustle corset which I absolutely fell in love with while I wore it. It was the perfect contrast for my olive green out fit and the bustle was perfect with the mermaid cut skirt was wearing. I aim to purchase one for my personal wardrobe as soon as I can.

 Roxana Hire did my makeup and hair and I have to say she did and amazing job. This girl has unlimited talent. Model, costume designer, stylist, MUA, and hair stylist….there is really nothing she can’t do it seems.

 We did our shots together, and then did a few shots of what will end up being a group scene in post, once Orla edits everything in. I’m really anxious to see how everything turns out, especially having seen Orla’s editing work before. Check out her deviant art page to see some of her editing work in addition to some of her modeling work at: http://orlarose.deviantart.com

I’m afraid I cannot post anything yet, because the whole project is being kept pretty hush-hush until the finished images are ready, but they will certainly be on my facebook page (www.facebook.com/KelleyNymph for those of you who don’t know) in addition to the pages of everyone else who was involved. Perhaps (If all parties involved are okay with it) I could do a posting of behind the scenes work where I can show what was done to create the finished image. But that is up in the air.

Leave a Reply

