Double Booked Again: Fells Point Pirate Invasion & Synergy Fashion Show

April 20th was my birthday, and I managed to have one relaxing day before jumping back into the grind for the following day. April 21st was a day I had been simultaneously looking forward to and dreading for a couple months, because it was yet another day in which I knew I would be double booking myself for events.

See, each year in Fells Point, there is an event called Pirate Invasion. People dress up, come hang out, and there is a pub crawl through Fells Point. It’s basically like the MD Renaissance Festival invades Fells Point for one weekend each spring. Around the same time of year, each year, there is a Model Mayhem meet and greet held in Fells Point. Last year the two were combined, with some pretty cool results, so it was decided that the two events would be held on the same weekend again.

It was a good idea, but didn’t work out nearly as well this time.

For one thing, the weather was really nice, which is normally a good thing, but this time it meant everyone and there mother was in Fells Point that day. Also, Pirate Invasion apparently organized some special events for kids this year–something I didn’t see so much of last year, so I don’t know whether or not they did it then as well—so lots of families were out, and the amount of foot traffic in the area was simply exorbitant. Not exactly what you want for a photo shoot, typically.

I couldn’t stay too long to begin with though, because that evening I was going to be in Synergy: Fashion & Arts for a Cause, a fashion show at the Aquarium organized by Kantankerous Couture. Even though the actual fashion show did not start until after 7, I was told to arrive at the Aquarium between 3:30 and 4. This left me some time to get some photos in at Fells Point, but not much, so I was anxious to get there, get ready, and shoot while I could. I met up with some old friends, and made a few new ones. My outfit, even though it was something I essentially tossed together at the last minute on a whim rather than an ensemble I planned out to the last detail, actually worked pretty well and I was excited to see how it turned out.

We got some shots outside, and once the heat and sun began to get the better of us, we migrated over to Max’s (our usual Fells Point M&G hangout) for refreshments. I also sampled some mussels, and they were delicious! ^_^

What I have seen online so far of myself and the crew (hehe, crew…..cause we were pirates. :P) has looked pretty awesome. Check out some of these photos:

I don’t have many of my photos yet, but rest assured they will be on the facebook once I get them. 🙂

Before I knew it, it was time for me to head to the Aquarium, so I regretfully bid everyone goodbye. I wish I had more time to hang out; just having fun in a pirate outfit is definitely my idea of a fun weekend. I was modeling a dress by Basketcase, my friend’s mother’s line of handmade crochet clothing. She was in the rising designer category and I wore one of the aquatic themed dresses. I believe it was remniscent of a coral reef. The colors were really cool. 🙂

The show had a catered afterparty, but the food went fast– so fast, in fact, that by the time I got to the table, it was almost completely gone, to my dismay. So, my date and I finished out the night with a dinner date at Della Notte, an amazing Italian restaurant in Little Italy which I have always wanted to go to. Amazing food, I highly recommend it. Totally worth the money. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

