Rainbow Goth: Behind the Scenes

I realize it’s been a bit since I did a little “behind the scenes” thing on a shoot, and since I got some awesome photos back from this shoot I did back in April with my friend Reider of Firewolf Photography right before my birthday, I thought I’d share.

It all started with this random crazy idea I had while talking to someone about my “style”. I’ve had a lot of people call me goth over the years and I don’t feel I necessarily identify with goth too well. I mean, I love the aesthetic….Black is a major staple in my wardrobe, I have dark hair and pale skin, and I like a lot of “dark” subject matter.

But….

I also like bright colors, anime, Hello Kitty, and other poppy fun pretty shit.

So, I wanted to combine these two sides of my personality into my fashion for a photoshoot and I got a wacky concept in my head.

The concept was: rainbow goth.

I cannot remember who I first told my idea to, but I remember them looking at me like I was nuts. Yeah, I admit the idea sounded weird, and that is exactly why it was so perfect for me. The juxtaposition of the black against the rainbows sounded awesome in my head, and I wanted to try it out. I instantly had the outfit and makeup in my head from the day I conjured it up. The eyes were what I was most excited about, and for good reason, because they turned out awesome.

When I told Reider about it and he got on board with the idea. It took a while to finally get together to actually shoot the idea, but we agreed right away that we would shoot it at the abandoned Thistle Mill. I have shot at Thistle Mill a few times, with a number of photographers. It had been awhile since I was last there, and I was excited to see it. I had heard that the site is scheduled for demolition in the near future; a prospect that honestly makes me a little sad, though I completely understand the reasoning. The place is falling apart. When we went there for our shoot, it looked incredibly different from the place I shot at in 2011. I actually managed to take some photos with my cell that weren’t half bad of the area.

The shoot went great, at least until the very end…..Reider’s camera took a nose dive off of the tripod as this happened:

Nooooooooooooooo!

Nooooooooooooooo!

Yeahhhhh. We kind of called it quits after that. The silver lining in the unfortunate situation was that it at least happened at the end of our shoot, not the very beginning. We got some nice stuff…Here’s a couple, more to come in the future on facebook very soon. 🙂

When I got home, I curled up with my cat and took a well deserved nap. I honestly couldn’t think of a better way to end the day.

Kitty snuggles are the best snuggles. :)

Kitty snuggles are the best snuggles. 🙂

One response to “Rainbow Goth: Behind the Scenes

Leave a Reply

