RAW Richmond: Virginia Adventures in Lolita Dresses

Earlier this month, you may have heard about how I walked for Belladonna at RAW Richmond. Belladonna is a local Lolita clothing brand created by Michelle Ramon (of Atelier Enchanteur, which I have also modeled for before) and Rachel Decker. I love modeling for these girls, their work is so lovely and they are just awesome to work with.  🙂

It was the first time I had seen them since Katsucon, so I was really excited about the show and walking for Belladonna. I later found our that this was the first ever RAW show for Richmond, so it was pretty cool to be in their debut showcase!

Richmond is a bit of a drive from Baltimore (2.5 hours, if you’re lucky) but I was so excited that I didn’t really worry about the drive until I was actually doing it. I hit some pretty rough traffic outside of the city and it took me around 4 hours to get to my final destination- The Canal Club in Richmond. By the time I finally arrived I was just relieved to not be in a car anymore.

The venue seemed like a cool place; it was much bigger than TATU in Baltimore, where the Baltimore RAW events are held. I could easily see myself going here for a concert if I lived in Richmond.

Michelle and Rachel had some cool new designs for the show that I have never seen before, including the dress I wore for the show, a pirate themed Lolita dress with a mermaid design on the skirt. I was especially a big fan of the jelly fish design. The girls design and print their own fabrics for the dresses (something I never even knew to be possible until I worked with them) and they look amazing! Just check out some of their work on their page…..

Our time to walk got pushed back quite a bit, so we just hung out and talked for a long while. I explored the other artist’s displays and the designer’s booths—there is a lot of talent hiding out in Richmond! A lot of people loved us, and wherever we went, people told us how cute we looked.

The show was a lot of fun; I just wish it wasn’t as long of a drive. By the time I got home I was more than ready to great my bed with a loving embrace. I definitely want to go back and explore Richmond one day soon– or maybe even an entire weekend.

We’ll see what happens.

Until next time, here’s some photos from the runway and behind the scenes!

Leave a Reply

