Catching Fire Opening Weekend Report

"There are no winners, only survivors."

“There are no winners, only survivors.”

Incase you haven’t heard, Catching Fire, the sequel to The Hunger Games, opened in theaters last Friday. I have been excited for this movie for months, so I of course went to see it on opening night. I’m glad I did too, I was blown away. The story picks up where it left off at the end of The Hunger Games and follows the storyline of the book pretty closely overall. There were some instances where the movie deviated from the book and elements were left out or altered, but they were very small things and I believe that the overall pacing of the film was perfect. The only two omissions I was disappointed about was that the Avox subplot was left out once again, but we do see them in the background as we had in the first movie, so I believe the opportunity to explain them may still lie ahead. The second was the background on District 13. It is only mentioned in passing in the film, but I suppose they are leaving that to the next two films.

The actors in this film were all so incredible, and I sincerely hope Jennifer Lawrence wins an award for her performance. I don’t want to give away too much, but in the final scene of the movie, the emotions that run across her face made it really intense. Several of the actors did excellent portrayals of their characters. Elizabeth Banks, who plays Effie, added so much more emotion to the character that wasn’t in the books to the point that I enjoyed her more than the Effie Trinket of the book series. I also enjoyed the actress who portrayed Joanna Mason and I loved her look, even though it was not quite what I pictured.

Catching Fire was visually breathtaking. They say a sequel never out does the first movie, but I disagreed with that assessment on Thor and also on this movie. I loved that we got to take a better look at the Capital and the Districts in this film. The wardrobe and the settings were amazing. I think there was hardly a moment I wasn’t admiring a dress or makeup, especially in the scenes for the Capital. There are at least 4 outfits from the movie I would love to cosplay in.

 

One of my favorites from the film was Katniss's dress in this scene. Gorgeous.

One of my favorites from the film was Katniss’s dress in this scene. Gorgeous.

 

Speaking of cosplay, I finally made use of the Effie Trinket cosplay I never had the opportunity to shoot in. People loved it at the theater; I cannot count how many people stopped me and asked to get a picture with me. It made me happy that so many people enjoyed the cosplay and it made me feel glad that I decided to go in costume.

Kelley Nymph cosplaying Effie Trinket, Hunger Games.

Kelley Nymph cosplaying Effie Trinket, Hunger Games.

I could go through and tell you what happens, but that wouldn’t be any fun, so I will give the basic synopsis for those of you who don’t know it and haven’t read the books: Katniss and Peeta survived but they find that winning the games hasn’t made their lives any better; only more complicated. The victory has sparked a change in the Districts and rebellion is on the horizon. Just as they think they are safe from the horrors of the arena, the Quarter Quell is announced and the tributes for the 75th annual Hunger Games are to be reaped from the existing pool of victors. So now Katniss and Peeta have to re-enter the arena, but this time the rules of the game have changed.

In closing: Go see this movie. You will not regret it. You will be hooked from beginning to end.

Leave a Reply

