The First Rule of Fight Club 2 is You Do Not Make Fight Club 2!

FightClubQuote

Perhaps I take this issue a bit too personally, but I am not too happy about the sequel that is coming out for Fight Club. I’m not even leery about it….I’m downright terrified that this is going to ruin my all time favorite movie for me. Someone recently told me this was going to be a thing, so I took to the interwebs for some fact finding…..apparently Chuck Palahnuik announced at 2013 Comic Con in San Diego that he was working on a graphic novel that will be the continuation to his novel which spawned the movie I adore. Some are excited….then there’s people like me, who fear that adding onto the original story will bring down the name.

We’ve all see it happen…..the sequels that NEVER SHOULD HAVE HAPPENED. Examples that come to mind include numerous Disney movie sequels, Robocop 2, Matrix Revolutions (some fans also say Reloaded as well, which I can kind of get behind because the first Matrix ended in such a perfect way…but Reloaded did have some cool scenes.), the Mask sequel, etc, etc…….

Fight Club was a movie that really shaped my life and way of thinking. I am not being dramatic in saying this. Without going into too many details, I will say that several of Tyler’s philosophies rang true with my view of the world. The movie was so brilliantly put together and full of great lines. Not to mention the ending of Fight Club seemed perfectly complete to me leaving no room for a sequel; so throwing a sequel on now so many years later seems forced. It’s also been said that Brad Pitt and Edward Norton (possibly Helena Bonham-Carter as well) are slated to reprise their roles…..but this has not been confirmed.

I read the synopsis of the sequel, quoted in this article, and do not believe the sequel will live up to its predecessor….. Here is what Chuck says of the sequel:

He’s living a compromised life with a failing marriage, unsure about his passion for his wife. The typical midlife bullshit. Likewise, Marla is unsatisfied and dreams of accessing the wild man she’d once fallen in love with. She tampers with the small pharmacy of drugs that her husband needs to suppress Tyler, and – go figure – Tyler reemerges to terrorize their lives.

I want to believe this could work…..but……..

I am just such a huge fan of the original that I don’t want it tampered with.

Maybe I’m being a negative Nancy and the sequel will be amazing. One plus to the whole thing is that since Fight Club became such a cult classic after it initially bombed in the theater, now people are hyped up about seeing a sequel on film. Perhaps it will surprise me…

After all, the first one did.

Leave a Reply

