Countdown to Sailor Moon Crystal

In the long forgotten year of 1995… I was introduced to Sailor Moon, a hero who would shape the majority of the rest of my life.

I don’t say this lightly. Sailor Moon defines much of my life to this very day. It was the series that got me into anime. It’s one of the reasons I majored in Japanese, if you look back far enough (I always wanted to be able to watch/read the source in the original Japanese). Sailor Moon fandom got me writing fanfiction, which later evolved into creating my own stories. Sailor Moon fanart pushed me into drawing more and learning to draw the human figure better. Sailor Moon was my entrance into the the world of cosplay, practically the beginning of my fascination with Japan, and Usagi Tsukino’s attitude towards her friends shaped my own value of friendship.

For some time now, a reboot of the Sailor Moon franchise has been in the works and the reboot known as Sailor Moon Crystal will be making it’s worldwide premiere July 5th at 7pm Japan time (So tomorrow morning for us in the USA, since we are behind.)

Usually, I hate reboots. I’ll be the first to admit that. The original Sailor Moon will always have its place in my heart, but from what I have heard and seen, the new Sailor Moon will be closer to the original manga by Naoko Takeuchi. Just look at the sailor fuku in the comparison and you can see it.

sailormoon through the years

There have been a few snippets leaked online, such as the updated transformation sequence, and the trailer for the series (now available subbed in English in addition to the original Japanese)….denofgeek.us has been a great site to follow for these things. From what I have seen so far, I really enjoy the updated look of the art which stays very close to the original design but doesn’t look overly 90’s cliché like the original anime sometimes did.

I cannot begin to tell you the level of nerd excitement I have experienced as of late over all of this.

The talk of a reboot has also sparked so many new merchandising opportunities. A lot of people heard about these panty sets released in Japan…

I have to admit, kind of want these.....

I have to admit, kind of want these…..

And a whole new series of commemorative keychain figurines came out as well. My good friend Christine picked up series 1-3 of the sets for me because she is awesome and just happens to be in Japan so she has access to stuff like that. 😛

Want to watch the premiere as it’s happening in Japan? If you can get up early tomorrow morning, Hulu will be streaming the premiere live here and Viz will also be streaming the premiere on Neon Alley.

Until then….

月にかわっておしおきよ!

Leave a Reply

