Pirating it up in Fells Point: Privateer Festival 2015

Each year in Fells Point, the pirates take over for the Privateer Festival. It also happened to line up with my birthday pretty nicely, so I celebrated in true pirate style. There is no more appropriate place for this festival, as Fells Point was known in history as once being a “nest of pirates”. You can read more on the illustrious history of the area here.

I've got a parrot!

I’ve got a parrot!

I typically wear black and red for my pirate looks, so I decided to go more blue this time, to rave reviews.

There were the classics, such as the Baltimore bird fanciers, (I got to hold a parrot–yay!) but there were also some new additions to the festival. One of these additions was a group of mermaids who actually had a tank set up for them to swim in. Super cool. It was cool to see that the mermaid trend has been catching on since some friends and I did it a few years ago. The tail they had was incredible. I was in awe over it, especially after I recently did a shoot with tails from the Mertailor. (Post on that should be coming shortly as well.)

Props to her for being able to smile and blow kisses under water.

Props to her for being able to smile and blow kisses under water.

The vendor space was increased, vendors lined up all the way to the water, this is becoming a real big deal it seems, plus this past Saturday was gorgeous out—probably the warmest it has been in Maryland around this time of year.  I did manage to stop for some photos in the midst of the revelry. The festival does not allow live steel or any type of weaponry, so we had to step away just a bit for these shots with this awesome cutlass…which leads me to my final point: Pics!

More photos to be posted to the facebook page as time goes on.

Until next time!

One response to “Pirating it up in Fells Point: Privateer Festival 2015

  1. Pingback: Sakura Matsuri DC Then and Now | Sugar, Spice, and Shadow·

Leave a Reply

